DECENTER

As part of my fieldwork, I began a placement at the Abrons Art Center on the Lower East Side in January. Thus far, I have visited one classroom in a partnering school where a visiting artist from our StudioLab program works with high school students, and I have assisted in the progress of several in-house projects. This weekend will offer another different and very exciting time to be involved with this center, as a new exhibit, DECENTER, is opening on Sunday.

This is a very special exhibit coinciding with the 100thanniversary of the pivotal 1913 Armory Show that introduced Cubism to the American landscape. Particularly special for Abrons is that this will also mark the 50th anniversary of the relationship between Henry Street Settlement and the Art Center. In 1963 the Armory Show served as the occasion for the announcement of the Settlement’s plan to build the Abrons Art Center.

The focus of DECENTER is contemporary artwork and it’s relationship to digital media, which offers a close parallel to many themes in Cubism, including spontaneity, fragmentation, and of course, decenteredness.

I am super excited to see the work of all of the 27 artists who are attending, but particularly the artist and writer Douglas Coupland, whose work I have read since I was in high school. A few years ago, I even scoured the bookshops of France for one of his French language books!

The opening day will feature two panel discussions about the legacy of the 1913 Armory show and about the perception of art in the digital age, with working artists, curators and other academics. Attending such events not only informs my practice as a burgeoning educator and museum professional, but also allows me to recharge. Any chance I have to absorb the output of other creative minds is a chance I relish.

Leave a Reply

