Farewell 2013

See you next semester!

See you next semester!

Well, we’ve come to the home stretch of the Fall 2013 semester! Final projects are due along with final papers & presentations. Salvation Army Santas jingle bells in the street. It has snowed twice. The smell of sidewalk Christmas trees hits you every few blocks, and it’s cold outside. For some of us, we’re finishing up the last few things before completing our program entirely! I will say that at Bank Street, there seems to be a trend of a semester-long portfolio style assignment serving as your “big” project at the end of the year, so you’re basically chipping away at it starting in September.

This semester was different for many of us due to a change in class scheduling. If you haven’t heard, things are going back to the way they were. Did you get this email?

After listening to your feedback, this spring we are pleased to announce that the course schedule is returning to a 2-hour format once again. This means 2- and 3-credit courses will meet for two hours (with 9.5 hours of additional instructional time for the 3-credit courses to meet our state credit requirements).

I think it’s great news! While I applaud the College for listening to feedback at the end of the Spring 2013 semester and trying a new schedule, I thought that the 9:20/50 end time was just too late, especially if you have a longer commute. Apparently I wasn’t alone in this sentiment (based on student surveys) and so things are going back to the way they were. So again I applaud that Bank Street takes feedback from its students seriously and makes changes for us.

As the winter break approaches, I begin to flirt with the idea of reading something for pleasure, now that I’ll have a little time to do so. I’m considering Paul Auster’s New York Trilogy, which from the first chapter seems right up my alley: wordy, dense, rewarding, and quirky. I also want to make time to get the movies, in particular the new Coen Brothers movie Inside Llewyn Davis.

It has been great blogging so far and I’m looking forward to next semester already. Feel free to send a message to jkuckens@bankstreet.edu if there is something you are doing at Bank Street or something you think would be good to feature on the blog.  I hope everyone has a restful and warm holiday break.

Leave a comment